Daily Archives: January 7, 2012

January Feature: The Man From Mars


I recently bought myself a book. The Man Who Sold The World and I simply couldn’t let it go!

A biography on David Bowie, I was quite surprised to have found one. I almost felt guilty for having mistaken Delhi bookstores for a commonplace bookshop.

It took me quite a long to start listening to Bowie and I shouldn’t be lying about it. It took me even longer to understand the technical aspects of everything that he ever did. His songs are not the ones you can’t just start listening to. Takes time, took me hell lot of time but once addicted, I was a goner.
The first time I discovered Bowie was some random dance track on MTV back in the school days. Almost 8 years later now, I am a nothing more than an honest fan.


His concept of multiple characterization and unusual makeovers that drove the art people and art lovers off-their-mind was like the coolest thing on this damned earth. He is an art and music innovator. Decades later from then, I am glad there are lots more who are trying to do something that he did. Lady Gaga is the somewhat closest amongst all, well yeah, minus the music.

Ziggy Stardust to the Thin White Duke to the now Neo-Classicist Bowie, I am as eager as a happy impatient kid, to find out what’s next.